Return to Serving


From the Catechism of  The Book of Common Prayer, p. 855.

The mission of the Church is
to restore all people to unity with God and each other in Christ.

The Church pursues its mission
as it prays and worships, proclaims the Gospel, and promotes justice, peace, and love.

The church carries out its mission
through the ministry of all its members.

Who are the ministers of the Church?
The ministers of the Church are lay persons, bishops, priests, and deacons.

From St. Paul’s Vision of Community in Romans 12

“For as in one body we have many members,
and not all the members have the same function,
so we, who are many,
are one body in Christ,
and individually we are members one of another.

We have gifts that differ according to the grace given to us:
in proportion to faith;
in ministering;
the teacher,
in teaching;
the exhorter,
in exhortation;
the giver,
in generosity;
the leader,
in diligence;
the compassionate,
in cheerfulness.”

– Romans 12:4-8



Permanent link to this article: